Go to the "Affiliated Clubs" tag above, and find your preferred club, or a club near you!

WP Squash

Contact PersonGlenda Erasmus

Tel:  021 674 6717
Fax: 021 674 6717
Email: administrator@wpsquash.co.za

WP Masters:
President: Andre Naude
Cel: 076-370-5436
Email: andrefnaude@yahoo.com



based on the 2001 rules, effective 30-Apr 2001

Refereeing is a thankless but necessary task. Knowing the Rules and using the correct calls is expected of referees, but the really difficult part is making decisions when one of the players appeals for a let. Below is a summary of the thought process a referee should go through when asked ‘Let Please‘…

The Question …

The Answer …

1. Did interference occur ?


The striker has four basic rights, and interference has occurred if the opponent fails to provide him with any of these, even if he has made every effort to do so:

Unobstructed direct access to the ball after completion of a reasonable follow-through

fair view of the ball on its rebound from the front wall

Freedom to hit the ball with a reasonable swing

Freedom to play the ball directly to the front wall

If no interference has occurred, or the interference was so minimal that the player’s view of and freedom to get to and play the ball were not affected, then it’s NO LET, otherwise move on to no.2

2. Could the obstructed player have reached the ball and made a good return? And was he making every effort to do so?

If either answer is NO, then it’s NO LET,
otherwise move on to no.3

3. Did the obstructed player move past the point of interference and play on? Or create the interference in moving to the ball?

If the answer to either question is YES, then it’s NO LET, otherwise move on to no. 4

4. Did the obstructing player make every effort avoid the interference?

If he didn’t, then it’s a STROKE, otherwise move on to no.5

5. Did the interference prevent the player’s reasonable swing?

If YES, then it’s a STROKE to the player, otherwise move on to no. 6

6. Could the obstructed player play a winning return?

If YES, then it’s a STROKE.
otherwise it’s just a LET unless no.7 applies.

7. Would the obstructed player have struck the opponent with the ball going directly to the front wall or, if going to a side wall, would it have been a winning return?

If either answer is YES, then it’s a STROKE to the player.

Remember that this is a simplification – read the rules thoroughly.

The over-riding principle of the rules is to ensure a fair result for both players.

  |   Copyright © 2013 Western Province Squash